I never said I was a golden god… or did I?

Why didn’t someone tell me to watch Almost Famous sooner? I watched it for the first time on Friday and realized that this film contains everything I love about the 1970’s- incredible music and killer fashion. Naturally, the hippie in me wanted to wear everything that Kate Hudson’s character Penny Lane did.

I mean this? I would absolutely rock that jacket. Don’t act surprised. If you know me, you know that faux fur is one of my favorite pastimes.

Floral Crop Top ($58, Free People), Faux Fur Vest ($65, Nordstrom), Bell Bottom Jeans ($146, 7 for All Mankind), Oakey Dark Brown Clogs ($40, Aldo)

You should also know that clogs are another one of my favorites (I’m Dutch, duh), and very much a staple of a 1970s wardrobe. To achieve Penny Lane’s look, I chose a vest instead of a jacket- it’s more practical for layering and still very in for fall 2011. Throw the vest on over a crochet crop top like Penny’s, and add bell bottoms (don’t be afraid of them!) and clogs. It’s a perfect tribute to the 1970s without being too costumey. There’s a pretty good chance that I’ll be wearing something like this come October… like I said, I’m a hippie at heart.

Cameron Crowe’s Almost Famous is the story of a high school boy who is given the opportunity to follow to write a piece for Rolling Stone about his experience touring with an up-and-coming rock band in 1973. Watch it for good fashion, good music, and good times.

aaw

Leave a Reply

