I will take what is mine with fire and blood.

So yeah, college happened. And because of that, this blog hasn’t happened in awhile. But now that I’m in the “real world,” I should have a lot more time for posts. Maybe? Hopefully? Anyways, as you know, the main purpose of this blog is to translate film fashion into something that y’all can wear in your everyday lives. Today, however, we’re gonna do something a little different…

Television! I know, gettin’ crazy, right? Nah, I just haven’t seen a movie with blogworthy costumes in awhile, and I need something to feed my obsession until season three of Game of Thrones. Now, if you know me at all, you know that I am not using the term “obsession” lightly. I am addicted to the books and HBO series to the point where I designed and sewed my own Daenerys costume for my sorority crush party. Crazy? Maybe. Awesome? Absolutely.

So today let’s take a look at my favorite badass female from Game of Thrones– Daenerys Targaryen. I’m warning you now that there are minor spoilers ahead. So if you haven’t finished season two or haven’t watched the series at all, GO WATCH GAME OF THRONES RIGHT NOW. Seriously. Watch it now. Then come back here and read this post.

This season, the newly minted Mother of Dragons brings her khalasar into Qarth, and with this change of scenery comes a change of wardrobe. Daenerys (Emilia Clarke) loses the rough, natural styles of the Dothraki and begins donning the luxurious flowing fabrics and metal details of the Qartheen people. Don’t get me wrong, I loved Dany’s Dothraki attire last season, but I’m really digging her new wardrobe.

It’s like she’s George RR Martin’s version of a Greek goddess- lots of loose, sheer fabrics in flattering cuts and ocean-inspired colors.

Mango Ruch Maxi Dress ($210, ASOS), Ecote Double Slit Skirt ($69, Urban Outfitters), Two Tone Surplice Dress ($25, Forever 21)

Maxi dresses and skirts are still everywhere this summer, making this a very easy look to accomplish. The ASOS dress on the left is almost a perfect match to Daenerys’ dress. The deep v-neck is simple, so all you need is some statement jewelry to dress it up. The Ecote skirt in the center is ideal for a hot summer day in the city. Or Qarth. Or anywhere really- on Earth or in Westeros. Not into maxi dresses? Never fear, the Forever 21 dress on the right still hints at Daenerys, but in a shorter style.

Oh, and check out that hardware.

Breyten Metal Mirror Collar Necklace ($34, Urban Outfitters), Scalloped Waist Belt ($58, BCBGMAXAZRIA), Peter Pan Bead Necklace ($28, Topshop)

These are toned-down compared to the Daenerys’ intense gold collar, but they are still fierce options for your inner Khaleesi.

Speaking of my inner Khaleesi…More like my outer Khaleesi. I bought this from Fencing & Archery earlier this month, and I’m obsessed. I’ve already gotten a few high fives from strangers while wearing it.

I must have some Lannister in me as well. I found this belt at the Melrose Trading Post a few weeks ago. As soon as I saw the mixed metals and lion’s head, I knew I had to have it. A Lannister always pays his debts, right? At $15, this belt will put no Lannister in debt.

Go go go and get your Game of Thrones on! Watch the tv series, read the books, or just put a little Westeros in your dress.

aaw

Leave a Reply

